The Kyoto Prize / About the Kyoto Prize / About the Kyoto Prize


1. The Kyoto Prize is an international award to honor those who have contributed significantly to the scientific, cultural, and spiritual betterment of mankind. The Prize is presented annually in each of the following three categories: Advanced Technology, Basic Sciences, and Arts and Philosophy.

2. Laureates shall in principle be individuals (one person per category). However, in special cases a single Prize may be shared among more than one person. Selection is made without regard to nationality, race, sex, age, or religion. Each laureate is presented with a diploma, a 20K gold Kyoto Prize medal, and prize money of 50 million yen per category.

3. Each Kyoto Prize category comprises four fields. The specific fields to be awarded in a given year are determined each year.

Fields within the Three Kyoto Prize Categories
Biological Sciences (Evolution, Behavior, Ecology, Environment)
Biotechnology and Medical Technology
Mathematical Sciences
(including Pure Mathematics)
Arts (Painting, Sculpture, Craft, Architecture, Design)
Materials Science and Engineering
Earth and Planetary Sciences, Astronomy and Astrophysics
Theater, Cinema
Information Science
Life Sciences (Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, Neurobiology)
Thought and Ethics

4. Candidates for the Kyoto Prize are nominated by official Kyoto Prize nominators, who are selected annually by the Inamori Foundation from among recognized domestic and international authorities.

5. Selection of the laureates is conducted fairly and impartially by the Kyoto Prize Selection Organization, comprising three steps: a separate Kyoto Prize Selection Committee and Kyoto Prize Committee for each category, plus the Kyoto Prize Executive Committee.

6. The Kyoto Prize laureates are announced each June; the Kyoto Prize presentation ceremony and related events are held in Kyoto, Japan, each November.

[Back to Top]
• Email Registration   • Access
© Inamori Foundation. All Rights Reserved.